ABS Protocol Reaches 75 Signatures, Two Ratifications

CBD16 January 2012: The number of signatories to the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization (ABS) to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) has reached 75, following signatures by Cyprus, Guinea, Jordan, Lithuania, Micronesia, Morocco, Somalia and Vanuatu. In addition, Jordan joined Gabon in ratifying the Protocol.

Vanuatu signed on 18 November 2011, followed by Guinea and Morocco on 9 December, and Lithuania and Cyprus on 29 December 2011. Somalia signed on 9 January 2012, followed by Jordan on 10 January, and the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) on 11 January.

Jordan also became the second CBD party to ratify the Protocol. The Nagoya Protocol will enter into force 90 days after deposit of the 50th instrument of ratification. [CBD Release on Guinea and Morocco] [CBD Release on Lithuania] [CBD Release on Cyprus] [CBD Release on Somalia] [CBD Release on Jordan] [CBD Release on Micronesia] [List of Signatories]