ABS Protocol Reaches 92 Signatures, Two Ratifications

CBD3 February 2012: The number of signatories to the Nagoya Protocol on Access to Genetic Resources and the Fair and Equitable Sharing of Benefits Arising from their Utilization (ABS) to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) has reached 92, following recent signatures by Australia, Cambodia, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Egypt, El Salvador, Guinea-Bissau, Honduras, Ireland, Kenya, Lebanon, Mongolia, Nigeria, Moldova, Senegal, Thailand and Ukraine.

Two countries have ratified the Protocol thus far, Gabon and Jordan. The Protocol will enter into force 90 days after the deposit of the 50th instrument of ratification. [CBD Press Release on Australia's Signature] [CBD Press Release on Cambodia's and Other Signatures] [List of Signatures and Ratifications]