CBD Reminds Parties to Sign Liability Protocol Before Closing Date

CBDJanuary 2012: The Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) has reminded Parties to the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety to sign the Nagoya-Kuala Lumpur Supplementary Protocol on Liability and Redress before 6 March 2012. The Supplementary Protocol is open for signature until that date at UN Headquarters in New York, US, per Article 17 of the Protocol.

As of 1 February 2012, 45 of 162 Parties have signed the Supplementary Protocol. Recent signatories include: Chad, Guinea-Bissau, Mongolia, Nigeria, Republic of Moldova, Senegal, Slovakia and Ukraine.

The Protocol has been ratified by only one country to date, Latvia. The Supplementary Protocol will enter into force once it has been ratified by 40 Parties. [CBD Notification] [List of Signatures and Ratifications]